22, Andrea Moreno, Studying Law

Law Student Andrea Moreno


What is your full name?
 Andrea Moreno

Where are you from?  Morelia, Michoacán but I was raised in Newark, Delaware.

How old are you? 22

At what age did you decide college was the right choice for you? Why? I always knew I was going to college. My mother implemented in me the only way to get out was knowledge.

What college are you attending and/or have attended? I attended Norwich University, a military institution in Vermont.

In what year did you graduate with your bachelors? What was your major? Which school did you graduate from? How old were you? How long did it take you to complete?  I graduated in 2016 as an International Studies and French major. I was 21 and it took me 4 years.

Did you go back to school after your first degree? If so, what degree are you pursuing now?  Yes, I am currently in law school pursuing a juris doctorate

Walk me through an average school day for you. I usually wake up around 7, get ready, and head to class from 8:30 am until 4:50 pm with breaks in between. I usually go to the gym and study during the breaks. After classes are over, I cook and get back to studying for the night.

What advice would you give a high school student who wants to pursue a college education? Take high school seriously. Your GPA matters and get involved as much as possible, not just for a resume filler but to throw some good karma out there.

What has been the hardest adjustment since starting college if any?  College was rough, as I mentioned I went to a military institution, so our freshmen year we were being trained by our cadre, junior cadets who assume a role similar to a drill sergeant. The basic training like setting broke us down and rebuilt us.

Do you miss your family or friends? How do you cope? It was hard to adjust at first but that quickly fades away because you get so busy. I coped by relying on my rook sisters and brothers (the other members of the platoon), we became a family and always looked after each other. Regardless of the environment college was the best time of my life. I got to travel the world and meet my best friends.

After school, what kind of career do you picture yourself having? I picture myself as an international human rights and immigration attorney. Helping others has always been the ultimate goal. It might take me some time to get there but it will happen.

Last Question: How do you have fun while living the life of a law student? Law school takes a toll on people, so I try to balance law school and anything else I like to do. This spring break some of us were offered to do some pro bono work in Puerto Rico, so we just made the most of it while working.

1+
Follow:
Share: